Amazing!  It has been a year and what a wonderful weekend again to celebrate!  
Olivia and I started Saturday out by meeting our friend Jennifer for a quick stroll around the farmers market!  We picked up some fresh flowers for Grandma Flanary and tasty cinnamon bread.  We headed home so Olivia could spend some time with daddy, while I went for a hair cut.  I had not had one since August of 08, when I donated 12 inches!      
I am very nervous and afraid to admit it, but I have MAJOR anxiety about hair cuts.  I had asked a friend to do it for me, as she is starting her own business and I thought I could give her some "start-up" business.  Rob was very critical of my decision, as I usually come home from a cut very upset.  He wasn't sure that a friend would be the best for me to be mad at... Regardless, I went and had a great outcome!  I just love it - because it looks exactly how it looked when I went in, just trimmed!  : ) 

After the cut, I came home to get ready for our big night!  
At 4 we dropped Olivia off at Grandma's and it was very hard to leave her for the "first overnight"...  I tried to be happy that I'd get a little time for just us, but I was just a little emotional.  I should have used waterproof mascara because I needed to reapply once we got in the car to leave. 
Once we overcame that drama, we went to Zelo in Minneapolis where we enjoyed a lovely dinner.  Rob had a very expensive piece of steak and some asparagus, while I enjoyed a tasty flatbread.   Rob looked like Chet (John Candy) from the movie The Great Outdoors after he polished off the "Ole 96er".  You may recall it was a 96-ounce prime age beef steak (including fat and gristle) but Rob's was more like a mere 16oz.  

Picture
Picture
My mom was very generous and had arranged a surprise gift certificate for us upon our arrival!  THANK YOU!

Rob and I exchanged cards at dinner and he followed by presenting me with a beautiful diamond anniversary band to accompany my wedding set!  I was so excited and couldn't stop staring at it all night!   
Earlier this summer, Rob and I had gone out and gotten his tremendously romantic gift - a brand new self-propelled lawn mower and sawzall.  (Maybe I should get him something HE really wants next year!) 
But at dinner I gave him a professional shave set, like the one he had done last year on our honeymoon and our tickets for the Cirque du Soleil - Kooza, that we were heading to next.

Picture
Picture
The show was amazing!  We had tried to go to a show when we were in Vegas, but the tickets were unavailable and out of our price range!   We certainly enjoyed all the acts and would absolutely recommend it to everyone!

After the show, we were exhausted but had to make one last call to grandma to make sure Olivia was doing well.  She was very helpful and reassured me that Olivia would be fine overnight.

The next morning we visited Grandpa Theisen and headed to our church where we met with our pastor to discuss Olivia's baptism (we are likely having it on August 16th). 

After that we picked Olivia up and quickly headed over to cousin Riley's 1st birthday party! We had a nice time and were glad we could help celebrate.

After the party we headed home. We had thawed the top of our wedding cake out for a taste test, but it was terrible, so we took a photo and tossed it in the garbage! I thought the night was almost done but tricky Rob had one more thing for me... He had gotten us the movie The Notebook, he is so ROMANTIC!  : ) 
We ended the night by sitting in our front yard and watched the local fireworks show.  What an amazing weekend we had and I look forward to many, many more years!
Picture
Picture
Destiny
7/13/2009 12:38:45 pm

Sounds like you guys had a great time :-) Happy Anniversary and thanks for lettimg me be apart of your big day. Love ya

Reply
Hillary
7/13/2009 02:02:00 pm

Sounds like you guys had an amazing weekend!!!! The card from Rob is adorable!!! LOVE YOU GUYS!!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.