On Sunday 5-31-09 my mom and I went to the farmers market and I was feeling so terrible!  I'd claim to be an avid gardener so I should have enjoyed my time there very much.  But something just didn't "feel" good that day!  So after the market, we met Rob at Chipolte for lunch (that always makes me feel better!).


Then, that evening Rob and I were sitting on the porch and I was complaining of being tired and just crampy.  I was really cold so I took my temp and it was 99.7.  Then about 1/2 later I checked it and it was 100.3.  At 7:30 p.m. I called the labor and assessment line to see if someone could tell me if it was safe to be running a temp.  They paged a Dr. who called me back right away and told me to get in.  
So, we walked over to the hospital (we live 1  1/2 blocks away) and I was seen by a nurse.  


They ran a few tests, thinking that I was suffering from a kidney infection, but that was negative.  They also sent us for an ultrasound to see what level my amniotic fluid was, because the screen they did showed a sign of leakage.  The ultrasound showed everything was normal.


Because I was so close to term (38 1/2 weeks) they thought it best to stay overnight and get some fluids to reduce my temp.


So, I was very upset, thinking I was going to stay in a crappy bed for the evening and get sent home in the morning.  I was very much against staying and I knew Rob had to go to work Monday morning.  He was very sweet and demanded that I stay "to get taken care of".


On Monday morning, about 6 a.m. we woke up and discussed with the nurse about possibly having the baby, because I was having contractions about 5 minutes apart.  I didn't even feel them, but the machine monitoring me was proving to be true.


Rob ran home (literally) to get our bags.  He came back and they started me on pitocin (7 a.m.).  The next thing I knew, it was 8:30 and I was starting to feel terrible!  Then it happened, I felt a "POP" and my water broke!  What an amazing and gross feeling!  I was staring at Rob and he didn't know what to think or say!  He pressed the nurse button and was insisting that someone come into our room immediately! 


So, needless to say - contractions started to become very strong and I was not able to "chit-chat" any longer.  The nurse gave me a IV pain killer - then asked if I wanted an epidural.  I was like "HELL YES!"  
So they came in and I don't even recall the anesthesiologist.  She was talking to me and I didn't have a clue what she was saying.  They asked me to sign a consent form, which I found out later from Rob, that I signed it with my left hand and I am right handed.  I guess I was really out of it.  I don't recall the pain or what the epi felt like - I just recall thinking the IV they put in when I got there the night before hurt more.


Just after 11:00 the nurse told Rob to go down to the cafeteria and grab a sandwich before the lunch rush.  I was dilated to a 4... He came back at 11:20 and the nurse told him to grab a leg cause I was dilated to a 10 and was going to start pushing.  I don't think he did ever eat the sandwich!  


Then at 11:39 (after 5 pushes) she was born!  They took her to the NICU immediately because she had a bowl movement prior to delivery and needed to be monitored. 
She was very pale and wasn't breathing out of her mouth.  I insisted that Rob go with her and stay there until we knew more...


The Dr. tended to me and I was waiting for information.  It was the scariest time of my life!  Rob came back about an hour later and started balling!  He told me that she was fine, but he was so scared and just wanted her to be okay.  He said that she was so pretty and held his little finger the whole time the nurses were working on her.  He was such a different man to me and forever changed my opinion of him.  He is truly the best husband and father to us!  


I was rolled down to the ICU around 2:00 and got to see her!  She was so lovely and I couldn't stop crying!  I just fell in love. 


Around 6:00 Monday evening, they let her out of ICU and we finally got to hold her!  We started calling family and let everyone know we had her.  It was too scary to call before, as we were unsure what was happening.


Then, we decided on her name.  It was a toss up between (my favorite) Eleanor Claire or (Rob's favorite) Olivia Mae. We decided she didn't look like an Eleanor so we decided on Olivia Claire.


The rest is history!  We are at home now enjoying the sleepless nights - but it is TOTALLY worth it! 
She has been so sweet and I just lover her mannerisms.


Until next time! 
 


    

Lori Fuchs
6/4/2009 10:43:45 pm

Congrats to all of you! I am so happy to hear that things turned out so well. Enjoy your new family!!

Reply
Gail
6/6/2009 01:56:12 am

I will still call her Eleanor even thoug you didn't pick that name. You need to write more, I love your humor!!! She's so pretty.

Reply



Leave a Reply.