So, we've finally done it!  We installed our egress window into our basement! 
 It has been a long-time desire of mine to increase the living space of our home and since we finished our basement two years ago, we decided to get this one last project in before the ground freezes, this year.   
Rob took Friday off to dig our 4 foot hole and prepare for knocking out the block that lined our basement.   Friday evening, we ended up installing the window and window frame.  I was a little scared that someone or something would be able to get into the well or even into our home, while we were all snoring away.  I guess a little faith helped me sleep!  ; ) 

Saturday, we drug ourselves out of bed and got back to work.  We dedicated our entire day and night to this project... We did take a little break for lunch and a trip to Fleet Farm, for our egress cover.  Sunday we ended up framing up the window, inside and out.  COMPLETE!  

Here is a little fact about us - home improvement projects usually create hostile arguments which includes each of us being very frustrated.  Probably because we are both convinced that we know better or more than the other. (he just hasn't accepted the truth yet!  : )  BUT, I am proud to say that this particular project went incredibly smooth and we worked super well together!   Overall, I was really impressed with our progress and felt so darn proud of my handy-man!   

Now, we are able to extend my business(es) into the basement.  We have plans to do some arranging for daycare and setting up some backdrops for my photo sessions.   If you are thinking of doing an egress - it is really a simple gig.  I'd suggest saving yourselves loads of dinero and do it yourself for about a $1,000. 



Leave a Reply.